top of page
  • Writer's pictureMission Food

SWEET BASIL VINAIGRETTE

Sweet Basil Vinaigrette is the most delicious way to dress any salad! Made with simple ingredients and easy instructions, this will be your new “go-to” dressing!

I’ll never forget the first time I tried a version of this salad. My friend Desiree made this delicious fall salad for a Thanksgiving dinner with pears, cranberries, pecans, and spinach. This dressing made the entire dish come together, and I wanted to skip every other dish and only eat this. But, it was Thanksgiving, so obviously I enjoyed the rest of my meal. But after it was all finished, this was my favorite part! I knew I had to have the recipe.

I’ve been making this over the years for all seasons, not just the fall. I absolutely LOVE it during the first hints of spring because of the fresh taste, and I love to eat it with strawberries and avocado. It’s also one of my favourite dressings to make when I am hosting company, or bringing a dish to a social gathering. Everyone always asks for the recipe!! Since it’s the week of enjoying green food for St. Patrick’s day, I thought it would be perfect to share with all of you!


I have adapted it over the years, making this refined sugar-free and using honey as the sweetener. I enjoyed it over the weekend with arugula, strawberries, feta, pecans, and red onion. So many great possibilities with this salad dressing; feel free to dress with anything, and you won’t be disappointed! Something else I love is that this recipe will make plenty for you to enjoy salads for an entire week. Its keeps well in the fridge.

Enjoy!!!




Sweet Basil Vinaigrette

Sweet Basil Vinaigrette is the most delicious way to dress any salad! Made with simple ingredients and easy instructions, this will be your new “go-to” dressing!

PREP TIME: 3 MINUTES TOTAL TIME: 3 MINUTES SERVINGS: 1 .5 CUPS


Ingredients

  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves loose

  • 1/2 cup salad oil your choice, I use olive oil

  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

  • 1 clove garlic crushed

  • 3 tbsp honey

  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt

  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper


Instructions

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender, and blend until smooth.

  2. Serve over your favourite salad!


Recipe Notes This dressing will hold in the fridge for at least 1 week


7,784 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page